The Reading Habits and Readabits Book Tags

I first discovered Book Tags while watching some YouTube channels featuring book recommendations and reviews. I’ve always thought they seemed like a lot of fun, and have since participated in a few in one of my GoodReads groups. They are often a lot harder than they look!

Since my blog is still pretty new, I thought it would be good to start with the Reading Habits Tag to tell everyone a little more about myself. The tag was created by BookJazz, and the original video can be  found here. As I’ve seen done on a few other blogs, I’m also going to include the Readabits tag. The original video seems to be unavailable, but as far as I can tell, it was created by Turning the Pages, whose channel can be found here.

The Reading Habits Tag

1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

I mostly read in my room, either on my bed or sitting at my desk in front of the computer so I can control the music. I find the computer a bit distracting sometimes, but sitting on my bed can be too comfortable and make me sleepy!

2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?

Definitely a proper bookmark if I have one available.

3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?

If at all possible, I prefer to stop at the end of a chapter or at least at a natural break in the text. I hate stopping in the middle of the page since I can never find my place again, and end up re-reading the whole page anyway. In terms of number of pages, I tend to have an idea in mind of how much I would like to read in a day, but I always overestimate!

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?

Never. Ever since I smudged chocolate on the edge of my copy of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, I’ve never eaten or drank anything while reading except maybe having a water bottle on hand.

5. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?

I can’t watch TV and read at the same time. Sometimes I can listen to music, and sometimes I find it too distracting. It really depends on my mood, how tired I am, and how difficult the book is.

6. One book at a time or several at once?

Just one. I don’t see any advantage to reading multiple books at once. Even if they are very different, I think I’d get confused and it would just take me longer to read each of them.

7. Reading at home or everywhere?

Right now, the only place I can really read is at home. I don’t have time at work since I only get half an hour for lunch and there are always people around. When I was in university, I brought books to read between classes and I could read just about anywhere as long as I had a comfortable place to sit.

8. Reading out loud or silently in your head?

Silently in my head. Why would I read out loud when I read to myself? I actually really don’t like reading out loud to a group, but I do it anyway at work.

9. Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

I try not to read ahead, although I sometimes have a tendency to skim ahead when the book is getting very exciting. I hate doing it because it spoils what’s happening next, but it’s hard to resist sometimes. I never skip pages.

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

Inevitably they end up breaking, but given the choice I would try to keep it looking as new as possible. I know that a broken spine at least shows that the book has been read and enjoyed, but it still bothers me when it looks cracked.

11. Do you write in your books?

Never! I hate when there is writing in the margins of my books. I was very upset the one time I ended up with a second-hand textbook for one of my classes, and it was already highlighted and had some notes in the margins. I find it so distracting.

The Readabits Tag

1. When do you find yourself reading? Morning, afternoon, evening, whenever you get the chance or all the time?

Currently I only have time to read in the evenings and on weekends, but I read every day. I work 8:30 – 4:30 every day, so I only have a few hours in the evening to read. On weekends, I read as much as I can after I’ve woken up enough to properly pay attention to what I’m reading.

2. What is your best setting to read in?

My room.

3. What do you do first – Read or Watch?

It’s hard to say. Watching the movie first spoils the ending of the book for me, but when I read the book first, I spend the enter movie frustrated about what they’ve changed. However, I still generally choose to read the book first, which seems a bit counter-productive since I’m more likely to enjoy a book, even if the end’s been spoiled, than I would enjoy a movie that got everything from the book “wrong.” Hopefully that made sense.

4. What form do you prefer? Audiobook, E-book or physical book?

Definitely physical books. I have trouble paying attention to audiobooks because I need to be doing something else while listening, but my mind tends to wander. I also have trouble reading for extended periods off a screen and tend to just scroll/skim and not read properly.

5. Do you have a unique habit when you read?

I don’t think so. I’m not really sure what would qualify as a unique habit.

6. Do book series have to match?

It annoys me if all of the copies I own don’t match, but it wouldn’t prevent me buying them. I’d rather have the content than not have it at all.

One thought on “The Reading Habits and Readabits Book Tags

  1. Pingback: Celebrating The Little Things Tag

Leave a Reply

