The Disney Book Tag

This tag combines two of my favourite things — reading, and Disney movies! The tag was created by Katytastic, and the original video can be found here. I did this tag once before in one of my GoodReads groups (found here, although I did not know who the original creator was at the time). Some of my answers may be the same as the post in that thread, but I will try to incorporate some of the books I read more recently.

The Little Mermaid – A book about a character who is out of their element, a “fish out of water.”

Bobby Pendragon, from the Pendragon series. The first book in the series of 10 is called The Merchant of Death. This was one of my favourite series around the time I was getting really into Harry Potter and A Series of Unfortunate Events. It is about a young boy named Bobby who travels to different worlds where he has to figure out a “turning point” that the world is coming to, and help ensure that the turning point goes the “right” way. He is definitely out of his element in each of these worlds since they are all so different, and he has to figure out how each of them works and what the “right” choice might be.

Cinderella – A character who goes through a major transformation

When I originally did this tag, I chose Neville Longbottom. While I still think he’s a great choice, I would also choose Morgan from The Whole Golden World by Kristina Riggle, an amazing book that I discovered this year as part of my reading challenge. Morgan is a teenage girl having an affair with her married teacher. The amount of character development in this book is outstanding, and it is by far the strongest book on this theme that I’ve read.

Snow White – A book with an eclectic cast of characters

I’m choosing a book I read quite recently – And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie. The book starts out with a group of 10 individuals who are all invited to an isolated island. Each of the guests has a secret in their past, and while they are trapped on the island, the guests are dying one by one. It was a very compelling story that I literally could not put down, and I would definitely say that the characters were eclectic!

Sleeping Beauty – A book that put you to sleep

I’m sticking to the same answer for this book, and choosing A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court. I just couldn’t get into this book at all, and it took me almost a full week to finish it. I finally had to finish it using an audio version instead because I just couldn’t take reading it anymore. I liked the plot and the social commentary element, but I found the book extraordinarily dry (although the audio version was better!). I also couldn’t stand the main character because he was so arrogant.

The Lion King – A character who had something traumatic happen to them in childhood

There are quite a few books that I could pick for this, but  I will go with Jack from Room. Jack is the son of a woman who has been kidnapped and imprisoned for several years, and “Room” is the only place he knows. This is an incredible book, and it even calls into question what would be more traumatic for the child — the fact that he had been imprisoned so long, or a drastic change to the life he knows if he manages to escape. I would say both would be very traumatic.

Beauty and the Beast – A beast of a book (a big book) that you were intimidated by, but found the story to be beautiful

Sticking to the same answer as I originally put again for this once, since I have not yet been brave enough to try other huge book that I’d love to read (ie. Anna Karenina, Three Musketeers). I’m choosing The Once and Future King, a book that was nearly 700 pages and took me 10 days to finish. I really enjoyed the book, and thought the story was interesting although a bit confusing at times.

Aladdin – A character who gets their wish granted, for better or worse

Another one where I am sticking to my original answer, and choosing My Sister’s Keeper. I would say both Sara (the mother) and Anna (one of the sisters) get their wish granted, but not in the way that they expected.

Mulan –  A character who pretends to be something they are not

It may be a tiny bit of a stretch, but I would say the main character in Enter Title Here. Reshma is a high school student who is trying to write a YA novel to improve her chances of getting into Stanford. In order to make her character more interesting, she decides to pretend to be a “normal” high school girl who is interested in making friends, dating and other “normal” high school experiences, even though that isn’t her. This was easily the most surprising book I read this year, because it was so much deeper than the synopsis let on.

Toy Story – A book with characters you wish could come to life

I would still go for all the March sisters from Little Women, one of my all-time favourite books.

Disney Descendents – Your favourite villain or morally ambiguous character

I originally picked Count Olaf from A Series of Unfortunate Events because he’s so funny and very cartoonish, while at the same time still having moments where he is genuinely scary. But I’ve also always had a bit of a fascination with the Phantom of the Opera, especially in the movie/theatre versions. I read the book earlier this year and still found him quite an interesting character, although not quite as intriguing as in the movie or play.

 

Leave a Reply

