The Sick Book Tag

It’s been a hectic couple of weeks, but I thought that since we are now getting into flu season it would be the perfect time for the Sick Book Tag (originally created by Dark_Chickie on Wattpad). Here it is:

Diabetes – A book that is too sweet, like really sweet

When I think of a sweet book, I naturally tend to think of romance — a genre that I don’t necessarily read very often. I would have to say one of the sweetest books I’ve read is Goodnight Tweetheart, a very sappy book but one that I surprisingly really enjoyed. It’s a nice quick read at only about 220 pages, much of which is through IM conversations. I wasn’t expecting much from it, but it ended up being one of my favourites of the year.

Chicken Pox – A book you picked up once but will never pick up again

I generally really enjoy re-reading books. Sometimes it’s fun to revisit a book after the first try and getting a fresh perspective on it. I’m not even opposed to trying a book that I wasn’t so keen on a second time to see if my opinion changed. However, one book that I have no intention of re-reading is Two Little Girls in Blue by Mary Higgins Clark. I read this many years ago after I’d really enjoyed a few of her other mysteries, but this one was a huge disappointment.

Influenza – A contagious book that spreads like a virus

I would assume that this means a book that became very popular and in a very short time. I haven’t read it, but I would have to choose Fifty Shades of Grey, a book that has been absolutely everywhere since it was first released. I’d consider it contagious because a lot of people picked it up just to see what all the hype is about.

The Cycle – A book you read every month, year, or often

There aren’t any books that I read every month, and very few that I read every year. However, as I mentioned above, I enjoy re-reading. The books that I’ve re-read most often are the Harry Potter series and the Series of Unfortunate Events. These are two of my favourite series of all time, and I always enjoy re-reading them.

Insomnia – A book that kept you up all night

I wouldn’t say it kept me up all night, but I literally could not put it down until I’d finished the whole thing. It definitely kept me up late! I’m choosing And Then There Were None, a creepy mystery that I devoured in one sitting. It also had it’s creepy moments so it could easily have kept me up all night in that sense too.

Amnesia – A book that’s forgotten and didn’t leave a powerful impression in your memory

I have no idea why, but I seem to have some sort of bizarre mental block for Go Ask Alice. I know I’ve read it at least twice, but I have no memory of the book at all. I couldn’t even begin to tell you what it was about or whether I enjoyed it. I re-read it in the first place because I couldn’t remember it at all, and even still it seems to have left no impression.

Asthma – A book that took your breath away

I’m interpreting “took your breath away” in terms of some kind of shock factor. I would have to go with The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult, my all-time favourite author. For me, think book easily ranks among her best. Anyone who is familiar with Jodi Picoult’s style will know that she often includes some kind of twist, but I’d have to say that for me this one was unexpected and had a very strong impact!

Malnutrition – A book that lacked food for thought

I can’t think of any examples at the moment, but I’ll edit the post if I come up with something later!

Travel Sickness – A book that took you on a trip through space and time

I’m still not 100% sure what “a trip through space and time” is supposed to mean, but I’m choosing to interpret it in a literal sense and go for a historical fiction book. I’m going to pick The Help, a fantastic book that definitely brought me to the space and time in which it was set. This quickly became one of my favourite books!

Leave a Reply

