Top 5 Wednesday: Top 5 2017 Debuts You Are Excited For

So far, I haven’t been a part of weekly book blogger memes. Part of the reason is because I just didn’t know about them, and part is because some of the memes I’ve found are not so relevant/appealing to me. Not only that, but I have a tendency toward being a “completionist” — once I start something, I hate leaving it unfinished. I think that’s part of the reason I prefer reading challenges that have specific prompts, since it gives me a very visible progress meter. When it comes to weekly memes, I avoided them for a while because I felt like once I started, I had to keep up with it every time, whether the top 5 topic appealed to me or not. I finally decided to give it a chance on a “no commitment” basis, and just respond when I can.

This week’s topic is: Top 5 2017 Debuts You Are Excited For! Top 5 Wednesday is a meme created by Gingerreadslainey on Youtube, and the official GoodReads group with the weekly topics can be found here. There are many new books coming out this year that I’m really looking forward to, so it’s tough to keep the list to just five!  I won’t include covers at this point since not all of these books have covers available yet, but I will link to the GoodReads page. Here are my picks:

1) Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson

This book is set to be released in just two weeks, on January 24, 2017! It tells the story of a woman accused of killing a baby that she was taking care of. When she becomes pregnant with a child of her own, she must find a set the record straight about her past to avoid her child being taken away. I have already forgotten (twice!) that this book is not out yet, and tried to order it from the library, even going to the point of starting to fill in a form asking them to buy it for me. Once I realized it wasn’t released yet, I decided to stop and wait to see if they will get it. I hope they have it in stock soon!

2) Meg & Linus by Hanna Nowkinski

This book is due out on April 18, and it is about the friendship between two friends who bonded over geeky interests and being queer. This book is published by Swoon Reads, a crowdsourced imprint, something I’ve only recently learned about. I thought the storyline sounded very interesting, and I generally enjoy YA contemporary books. So far, this is another book that I have in mind for my challenges this year, and I hope it lives up to the hype.

3) It’s Not Like It’s A Secret by Misa Sugiura

This is another YA contemporary book with LGBT themes. It is due out on May 9, and it focuses on Sana, a girl who has recently moved to California and who is trying to keep several secrets. A lot of people have been put off this book recently due to some controversy about the possibility of racism in the book. The posts about this issue had already been taken down before I had a chance to read them, but it actually heightened by interest in this book. Although I already wanted to read it, I now really want to see what all the controversy is about.

4) Words on Bathroom Walls by Julia Walton

This is a book that I only discovered recently, which is expected to be published on July 4. The book is about a young man who has schizophrenia and his attempts to start over at a new school. I’m excited for it because the plot sounded interesting and it has been compared to The Perks of Being a Wallflower, which I loved! Stories about mental illness are always a bit risky to undertake, but I have not yet read much about schizophrenia so I think it will be interesting.

5) Textrovert by Lindsey Summers

I’ve recently come to love stories that focus on social media in some format, including books where much of the story is told through texts, Tweets, emails, etc. and about the role of online friendships in people’s lives. I think it is such a relevant topic, and something that is definitely worth exploring given how much of a natural bias people tend to have against online friendships. This book is about a high school student who accidentally exchanges phones with a boy she hates, and the two reluctantly agree to forward each other messages for the week while he is at football camp. While I’m forseeing quite a predictable book, it seems like it will be a lot of fun to read.

 

Leave a Reply

