Netflix Book Tag

Recently I’ve become obsessed with watching series on Netflix. As always, I was late to the party on this one because I actively avoided using Netflix for a good few years. In the last year or so, my boyfriend kindly offered me a profile on his Netflix account in an attempt to get me watching more anime again. I discovered that the anime selection available wasn’t so appealing, but I’ve finally caught on to the “binge watching” trend, and especially enjoyed some of the Netflix originals — like A Series of Unfortunate Events! I discovered this tag the other day, and thought it would be a perfect blend of Netflix and books. The original tag is by Accio Books, and can be found here.

1. Recently Watched – The Last Book You Finished Reading

One of my goals this year is to finally read all of the Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 graphic novels. I’m a huge fan of the Buffy TV series, but never got into the graphic novels. I tried the first one not long after the series ended, and since it was my first ever graphic novel, I was instantly confused by the style. I decided that this year, now that I’m more familiar with graphic novels, I would push myself to finish them all. The last book I read was the second volume called No Future For You.

2. Top Picks – A Book or Books That Have Been Recommended to You Based on Books You Have Previously Read

As part of my reading challenge this year, one of my prompts led me to a site called What Should I Read Next. Basically, you enter the title or author of a book, and it gives you recommendations for similar books you might enjoy. There was one book that kept coming up when I entered several different books, and that was Made You Up by Francesca Zappia, a book that was actually on my TBR anyway.

3. Recently Added – The Last Book You Bought

I actually don’t buy books very often anymore because I have a great local library where I can get almost anything that I want. The last books that I remember actually buying were the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children trilogy by Ransom Riggs. I read the first two from the library, and decided that I had to buy them!

4. Popular On Netflix – Books That Everyone Knows About (2 you’ve read, and 2 you haven’t or have no interest in reading)

Last year, I took the opportunity to read a few of the popular books that I had missed out on. I read Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee, the very controversial sequel to To Kill a Mockingbird, and I also read (and was somewhat disappointed by) We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.

As for two books that I haven’t read or have no interest in, I’d have to go with Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. I have a feeling I will end up reading this at some point, probably for one of the Rejects Challenge categories relating to a book I’m expecting to hate, but it really doesn’t appeal to me at all. Another popular book I have no interest in is Fifty Shades of Grey. It’s not even the graphic content that I object to, it’s just how poorly written it seems to be based on the snippets I’ve seen.

5. Comedies – A Funny Book

This is an easy one. I just finished this book earlier this week, after devouring the whole thing in a few hours. I’m going for Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh. There were so many chapters that I just wanted to re-read immediately after I finished them!

6. Dramas – A Character Who is a Drama Queen/King

Probably a popular choice for this question, but I’d have to say Bella Swan from Twilight. To be fair, I wasn’t a huge fan of this series. I thought it had so much potential to be a great story, but it just didn’t live up to it. I found Bella especially annoying because of how quickly her entire life became consumed by Edward, and especially her reaction to him leaving. I can understand feeling devastated by someone you love disappearing, but she hadn’t even known him that long!

7. Animated – A Book With Cartoons on the Cover

1520411Another of my favourite childhood books – The Big Cheese Caper, which featured The Rescue Rangers. This was one of my all-time favourite shows, and although I haven’t seen it in a long time, I would love to rewatch the series again.

8. Watch It Again – A Book or Book Series That You Want to Re-Read

I actually have quite a few for this one. I want to re-read most of Jodi Picoult’s books. Even though I know how they will end, I really loved the stories and the character development in them and would love to see how the clues toward the twist are sprinkled through the story. I’d also love to re-read Harry Potter, even though I’ve re-read it many times before, and I’ve been debating re-reading Jane Eyre or Little Women.

9. Documentaries – A Non-Fiction Book You’d Recommend to Everyone

This is a tough one for me because I’m really not a fan of non-fiction at all. I find most of it quite dry, although one book I really enjoyed was Carly’s Voice, which is about Carly Fleischmann, an amazing young woman with autism who is non-verbal and learned to communicate with her family through typing. Carly has gone on to become a great advocate for autism and now hosts her own Youtube talk show. I’m not sure if the book would appeal to everyone, but I think it’s a great story.

10. Action and Adventure – An action-packed book

Definitely the Hunger Games trilogy, another series that I actively avoided for a while because of all the hype. When I finally gave in and gave it a chance, it quickly became one of my  favourite series.

11. New Releases – A Book That Just Came Out or Will Be Coming Out Soon That You Can’t Wait to Read

Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult! On the off-chance I haven’t mentioned it before, Jodi Picoult is my favourite author and I always look forward to her books. I’ve especially been anticipating this one because of all the delays with its release. It was finally released in October 2016, although I tend to wait for the paperback copies, for no other reason than so it will match my other Jodi Picoult books on my shelf. Really looking forward to reading this one!

12. Max – Tag Some People

As always, I tag anyone who is interested in doing this to participate. When I do tags myself, I just go by what I’m interested in posting about and not whether I’ve been tagged so I never remember to tag others. So if you’re interested, go for it!

Leave a Reply

