The Would You Rather Book Tag

It’s been a while since I’ve done a book tag, so I thought it was a bit overdue. This tag was originally created by RayKayBooks, whose Youtube channel can be found here. It’s been a busy weekend, so this seemed like a nice quick tag to give a try. Here goes:

1) Would you rather read only trilogies or only standalones?

I would definitely prefer to only read standalones, although it would mean missing out on the few trilogies that I really enjoy (Hunger Games, for example). In general, I prefer standalones over series because I find series, especially trilogies, have a nasty habit of dragging in the middle. I also think reading only standalones would give me more variety of stories, since a lot of trilogies, at least ones that I know of, are from pretty similar genres. I think that would get pretty repetitive after a while.

2) Would you rather read only male or female authors?

I actually don’t pay any attention at all to the gender of an author when I decide to read a book. I pick books based on how interesting the plot summary seems. I guess if I had to choose, I’d pick female authors since the majority of the books that I read and most of my favourites are by females. I would hate to never be able to read another Jodi Picoult book!

3) Would you rather shop at Barnes & Noble or Amazon?

Barnes & Nobles doesn’t exist in my country, but even if I replaced it with Indigo, our equivalent, I would still prefer to shop at Amazon. Amazon tends to have better selection, and often lower prices. I actually was in Indigo earlier today and was shocked by how expensive some of the books were. $32 for a hardcover!

4) Would you rather all books became movies or TV shows?

To be fair, I don’t watch a lot of TV and I’m probably more likely to watch a movie version than a TV series just because of the time commitment. I think my answer would actually depend on the length of the book or series and the genre. In general, I have issues with movie versions because they tend to skip over and change a lot of the book, but on the other hand, I don’t think most books have enough material to make a compelling TV series, unless it was a very short miniseries. I guess I’ll pick movies.

5) Would you rather read 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?

As it stands now, I tend to read 2-3 books per week already, so I don’t think reading 5 would be too much of a stretch, especially with a loose interpretation of what kind of books. For example, 2-3 novels and a couple of graphic novels or children’s books would be no problem. I would much rather do that than read only 5 pages per day, since that’s not enough to get involved in any story.

6) Would you rather be a professional reviewer or an author?

If I’d been asked this a few years ago, I probably would have said an author, hands down. Thinking about it now, I’m leaning more toward professional reviewer. It seems like a lot more fun to read a lot of books and write about what I think of them than to try and write books of my own.

7) Would you rather only read your top 20 favorite books over and over or always read new ones that you haven’t read before?

This is by far the hardest question in this tag. As much as I would hate to never be able to read my favourites again, I think I’d have to say I’d rather always read new books. If I kept re-reading the same few books over and over, I’d get bored and they probably wouldn’t be my favourites much longer. At least with new books, I’d have a chance of discovering a new favourite.

8) Would you rather be a librarian or a bookseller?

Definitely a librarian. I have no interest in any kind of retail job, so I wouldn’t want to be in sales of any kind. I also think a librarian would have a bit more variety in terms of what I’d be able to do, like running programs for kids. Also, through doing my challenges the past few years, I’ve come to really love my public library because of how well-stocked they are and how easy it is for me to get books. I think it would be great to share that with others.

9) Would you rather only read your favourite genre or every genre except your favourite?

This is a tough one to answer because I don’t really have just one favourite genre. I’ve actually seen some versions of this tag which says “favourite genres,” but the original seems to be limited to just one. I would probably still choose to read only my favourite genre since at least I’d be reading something that I enjoy, whereas reading every genre but my favourite would probably wouldn’t interest me much.

10) Would you rather only read physical books or eBooks?

Well, I already only read physical books only so that’s an easy decision. I don’t have an e-reader, and find it harder to read off a screen than off the page. Definitely physical books only.

Leave a Reply

