Top 5 Wednesday: Top 5 Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

Earlier this year, I posted about some “reading rut remedies” with the different kinds of ruts I’ve noticed myself falling into over the years, and how to find a way out. That post can be found here for anyone interested. Since I’ve started participating in challenges, ruts have been a bit less frequent, but they do still happen. When I fall into a rut, I tend to fall back on old favourites like Harry Potter or A Series of Unfortunate Events.

Another strategy I tend to use is to read something quick and easy to try and get myself motivated to read again. For me, a rut is most likely when books take me much longer than I intended to read, either because they don’t hold my interest or because I just don’t have enough time to read. Reading something on the short side and that is a lighter read has been my best bet for getting back on track.

Top 5 Wednesday is a meme created by Gingerreadslainey on Youtube, and the official GoodReads group with the weekly topics can be found here.

1) Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

8909152I read this book last year as part of one of my reading challenges, and I liked it a lot more than I expected. This book is about a man named Lincoln whose job is to monitor internet security in his office, a task which includes reading his coworkers emails. He starts to read the interactions between two best friends, Jennifer and Beth,  and quickly becomes way too involved in their lives. While there are some potential ethical issues with the storyline, and I did not think the ending was the most realistic, it was a fun book to read and I really enjoyed it!

2) The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan

9279177I’d heard a lot about David Levithan’s books, but never tried one until late last year. I was very interested by the very unique style in this book. The entire story is told in the form of dictionary-style entries, with each word “defined” by an episode from the characters’ relationship. This is a very short book, at just over 200 pages, so it reads very quickly. One of the things I really enjoyed about this book is that it is very careful to avoid gender-specific pronouns, so the story can apply equally well to couples of any orientation. I thought this book was very creative, and it was a fresh way to tell a fairly typical YA story.

3) Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

19547856I originally read this book because it was came so highly recommended all over the Internet. It is about a high school student named Simon who is gay and has developed feelings for a boy he has been chatting with online. A classmate discovers their chats, and blackmails Simon by threatening to out him if he does not help another boy get a date with a friend of his. I thought this was an adorable story, and I liked how Simon’s sexuality was important to the plot, but was not the central defining trait of the character. I was a little worried about picking up this book because of all the hype, but it definitely lives up to it!

4) The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales by Jon Scieszka

407429Sometimes when I get into a reading rut, all I want is something guaranteed to be funny. This is a book I’ve read many times over the years, and it is one that I always come back to.  This is a hilarious parody of classic fairy tales from the brilliant Jon Scieszka. The illustration style is strange, but adds to the overall weirdness of the stories. This was one of the most popular books when I was in elementary school, although my most distinct memory of reading it was when I was practicing for a Shakespeare scene with my best friend in high school. When we got fed up of reciting our lines, we’d take a break with this book. It will take only minutes to read, but it is amazing!

5) Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

9780552574235This is another great YA book about a girl named Madeline who has a medical condition that causes her to have severe, unpredictable allergic reactions, forcing her to stay home. She quickly becomes friends with Olly, the boy next door. I’ve mentioned this book once before as one of my highlights of last year’s challenge, so I won’t go into too much detail (my comments about it can be found here). This book would be great for getting through a reading slump because it is a relatively quick read, with lots of illustrations and diagrams scattered throughout. I loved the interactions between the characters, and especially enjoyed how there was a twist to the end just when I thought the book was starting to get predictable.

Leave a Reply

