Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Sci-Fi and Fantasy Cover Art

Cover art topics are always a tough one for me. Once I started reading more book blogs and watching the videos, I was surprised to find how important an attractive cover is to so many readers. Unless a cover is completely disgusting or very scary, it really doesn’t matter much to me. There are definitely covers that I like better than others, but I can’t say that it’s something I’d find particularly memorable. I knew that finding books for this topic would be challenging for me, so I decided to search through my Goodreads list and see which covers caught my attention most. These are books that I have not read yet, so I can’t really comment on the book itself, but I love the covers.

Top 5 Wednesday is a meme created by Gingerreadslainey on Youtube, and the official GoodReads group with the weekly topics can be found here.

1) The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

30095464This is a book that’s been haunting my Goodreads page for months now. It keeps coming up as a giveaway, and although I’ve entered every time, I haven’t won yet! I chose this book because I loved the colour scheme and the overall design of the cover. The purple background is one of my favourite colours, and I loved the design that is layed over the image. This book is about a young witch with a talent for necromancy, which makes her ostracized from her community. Very interested in reading this book, and in this case, the cover actually was a factor since it was what drew me to this book when I saw it on the giveaways list.

2) The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

25203675This is a book that I only really started hearing about recently. I know very little about this book, but I’ve heard that it is a Hades and Persephone retelling. I’m not sure if that’s the case, but if it is, I think it could be very interesting. I chose this book because I loved the shade of the blue that made up the majority and the sunset colours of the background. In general, I find covers with people on them can be annoying, but in this case (and The Bone Witch) it works well because the person is at a distance so you don’t get a set image of what the main character “should” look like before you even start to read. I’m seriously considering adding this book to my reading challenges this year.

3) Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

24763621I discovered this book last summer, and the cover immediately reminded me of Beauty and the Beast. I don’t know if the story actually has anything to do with that, but the idea of an encased rose reminded me of the rose that the Beast kept in his castle to mark the passage of time before his curse reached its time limit.  I’ve had this book on my TBR since I first saw it on Goodreads, which was a good 6 months before the book was actually released. It finally came out in February of this year, so I’m interested to see what kind of reviews it gets. So far, the reviewers I follow on Goodreads haven’t enjoyed it very much, which is not very promising…but I’m still interested in reading it.

4) On the Edge of Gone by Corinne Duyvis

22020598As I’ve mentioned before in other sci-fi/fantasy posts, I rarely read sci-fi so it was especially tough to find options on my TBR. I just had to include this book, both on my TBR and on this list, because of the unique angle. This book is about a family trying to get a spot on a ship leaving Earth to colonize new places after a comet strikes. Each person must contribute some kind of valuable skill to earn their spot. The protagonist in this book is a girl with autism, who worries that she will not be allowed on-board. This was a book that I added to my TBR because of the plot, however when I was searching for the most appealing covers, it quickly stood out because of the beautiful sky in the background.

5) Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh

23308087This is another book that I only heard about very recently, and it is expected to be out in a couple of weeks. I was drawn to this cover because of the stunning phoenix design. Although I didn’t notice it until just now when I enlarged the image, I love how the flowers across the bottom are mixed with shurikens. It’s such a great design choice. I have read very little about Japanese culture and mythology, so this book seemed very interesting. If nothing else, it helps to cross off a difficult item on my Rejects Challenge list, since it features a female character who disguises herself as male.

Leave a Reply

