Top Ten Tuesdays: Top 10 Thrillers That I’ve Recently Added to by TBR List

Top 10 Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish

Although this is already my second Top 10 Tuesday post, it is my first that actually adheres to the schedule. This week’s topic was to choose the top 10 books of a genre of your choice that you recently added to your TBR. It didn’t take long for me to decide to focus on thrillers, since I’ve added so many to my list in the past couple of weeks! Due to my local library system changing their online catalogue (and the inevitable system problems that will present), I’ve been proactively trying to fill in the last remaining categories on my reading challenge and putting a hold on the books I may be interested in, just to ensure I keep my place in line. Hopefully nothing goes too wrong with the system to affect my holds!

I am a huge coward when it comes to horror books, but I have a bit more of a tolerance for thrillers. I especially love psychological thrillers, and although I haven’t read that many yet, they make up a good chunk of my TBR list. Also, the ones that I have read so far are some of the best books I’ve read in the past few years. The reason I have so many added to my list recently is because one of the remaining categories I have open from my challenges is “a thriller.” I have a hard time sometimes with prompts that are so open because it is hard for me to settle on just one book. Even though I already had plenty of options on my TBR, none of them really jumped out at me and I started scouring through Goodreads to see more options. I ended up adding many more to my TBR, which definitely didn’t help narrow things down! Here are ten of the thrillers that I added most recently:

1) Guilty by Laura Elliot

35214498I found this book while browsing some of the upcoming releases for the next few months. This book is due out toward the end of June, and it deals with a 13-year-old girl who goes missing after sneaking out of her house. A journalist covering the case is convinced that the girl’s uncle is responsible for her disappearance, and paints him as the prime suspect in the media. I thought that this book seemed like quite a unique concept for a thriller, especially given the focus on the media’s role in how crimes are viewed.

2) Lie to Me by Jess Ryder

34536232This book is a recent release that came up while I was looking at lists of debut books released this year. This book is about a woman who watches a video of herself as a child with the mother she never really knew. As she starts to question her past, she is led to the scene of a 30-year-old murder that seems to be in some way connected to her mother. This book seems to be more of a mystery than a thriller in some ways, and I tend to find these kinds of thrillers a bit more hit or miss.

3) Sister Sister by Sue Fortin

33026839This book is yet another fairly recent release that focuses on two sisters. According to the Goodreads synopsis, the story focuses on two sisters named Clare and Alice. One sister is described as a manipulative liar, and the other as paranoid and jealous. It seems as though this book will be about discovering which sister is actually telling the truth, which could be very interesting if it is done well. The reviews for it have been overwhelmingly positive so far, with an average rating just over 4 stars on Goodreads, so it seems like it could be a good one.

4) The Lying Game by Ruth Ware

35096883I’m getting a little ahead of myself by adding this one to my TBR. I recently decided to add The Woman in Cabin 10 by this author to my challenge because it was chosen as a book of the month for one of my groups. Like I often do, once I added one book, I decided to take a look at what else the author has written and add anything else that seems interesting. This book is about a young woman whose dog retrieves a human bone from the water while out for a walk. Her three best friends show up to help comfort her, and secrets from their past are uncovered. Although I haven’t read anything yet by this author, I have seen a lot of positive reviews for her books and all three of them so far seem very interesting.

5) The Child by Fiona Barton

32054078This is a similar case of getting ahead of myself. I plan on reading The Widow later on this year, and I noticed this book on a list of upcoming releases. I’m inclined to consider this a bit more of a mystery based on the synopsis, which is about a baby’s skeleton discovered in a demolished building, which is investigated by a local journalist. She quickly discovers a case of a newborn stolen from a hospital many years ago, and begins to dig into the story to uncover what really happened. The plot reminds me a bit of Where They Found Her by Kimberly McCreight, which I really enjoyed last year.

6) When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn

32957193This book may be a little different from the others on the list so far since it is the only YA thriller mentioned. I was on the fence about adding it to my TBR, so I thought I would add it and decide later whether to keep it. The book is about a boy named Ben who is giving his account of a school camping trip in the mountains, which he is telling from prison. The main reason I’m on the fence is because a book like this all comes down to how compelling the narrator is. I will probably end up keeping it on my list regardless, but given that it comes out in August, I’ll wait and see how the reviews look.

7) He Said/She Said by Erin Kelly

31450961It’s looking like most of the books I recently added were because of looking at upcoming releases. This one came out just today, and it focuses on a couple who witness an attack during a total eclipse and report it to the police. The Goodreads synopsis is relatively vague, and just alludes to their lives changing because of their decision to report the crime. It sounds very creepy, and it seems to have a lot of potential to be a very interesting story. Also the cover art was pretty interesting!

8) The Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter

33199875Again, another book by an author that I’ve been meaning to read for a long time but never actually picked up. I’ve nothing but good things about her books, but I haven’t’ had a chance to try any yet nor do I really know where to start. Her newest book, due out this August, is about two sisters whose lives were shattered after an attack on their family home. Later, as adults, their town is hit by violence again and one of the sisters was the first witness, unleashing her memories of her childhood trauma. It sounds like a very intriguing concept, and the majority of her books average over 4 stars on Goodreads.

9) The Only Child by Andrew Pyper

34527992I’d never heard of this author until this year, when I decided to use one of his books for one of my more tricky reading challenge prompts. It’s a little debatable how much of a thriller this is, since I’ve also seen it classified as horror and a mystery, but I found the synopsis so fascinating. It is about a forensic psychologist who is interviewing a client that claims to be over 200 years old, and the inspiration behind several of literature’s most notorious monsters. At the same time, he also claims to be the psychologist’s father, forcing her to try and discover the truth about him as well as her mother’s death. Unfortunately, the early reviews of it by people who have read the ARC copies are extremely mixed, and there seem to be more negative that positive. Definitely not a good sign.

10) It’s Always The Husband by Michele Campbell

31451082This is another book that I’m a little hesitant to try since adding it to my list, after one of the Goodreads reviewers that I trust most gave it a very poor review. The book is about three college roommates who become close friends, alternating perspectives between their college years and their adult lives at age 40, when one of them ends up dead. Most of the synopses I read about this book have been very vague, and focus on the “frenemies” aspect of the women’s relationship. It sounds like it could be an interesting story, but this is another case where early reviews have been very mixed so far.

Leave a Reply

