You’re Not Good Enough Book Tag

For the longest time, I avoided doing these kinds of tags which require matching up characters from a variety of books. I’ve never really felt that I’m familiar enough with a wide enough range of characters for cross-book comparisons, but this tag is a little different. I actually first was exposed to a shortened version of this tag as part of a read-a-thon in one of my Goodreads reading challenge groups, and it was a lot of fun! I found it again on Kourtni Reads (post found here), with even more questions and decided to give it a try.

This tag requires you to compile a list of 30 characters from any book. For each question, you pick two names at random and decide which one is a better fit to answer that question. For my list, I decided to use an equal number of male and female characters, and I tried to use characters who were distinctive enough in some way that it would be easy to differentiate between them.

1) You have only one more spot on your spelling bee team. Who would you pick to complete your team?

My options are: Margaret Lea (The Thirteenth Tale) or Junie B. Jones (The Junie B. Jones series)

This is a very easy choice, considering Junie B. Jones is a kindergarten/first grade student, and Margaret is an avid reader and a biographer. Margaret would definitely be my pick for a team member.

2) Both characters want to kill you. Which one do you kill first so you have a better chance of surviving?

My options are: Anne  (Anne of Green Gables) or Atticus Finch (To Kill a Mockingbird)

Well…I don’t find either of these people particularly threatening. I guess I would kill Atticus first, just because he is more likely to overpower me, plus if I recall correctly, he has a gun. I don’t think he uses it much, but I do remember a scene where he shoots a mad dog. Anne is more imaginative, but I doubt she’d have much ability to kill.

3) You’re on The Bachelor/Bachelorette and you’re down to these two characters. Which one are you going to give your rose to?

My options are: Nimona (Nimona) or Jo March (Little Women)

I have to admit I know absolutely nothing about The Bachelor. I would assume giving a rose means I want to keep that person in the competition. If that’s the case, I would give my rose to Jo March. Nimona is an amazing character, but she is way too unpredictable and violent!

4) You’ve been chosen for The Hunger Games. Who would most likely volunteer in your place?

My options are: Gandalf (The Lord of the Rings) or Landon Carter (A Walk to Remember)

Although I think Gandalf would have a much better chance of surviving The Hunger Games, I don’t get the sense that he would volunteer to replace me either. I’ve only read The Hobbit so I don’t know too much about his character, but he seems to be more of an adviser than actually willing to step in himself. Landon, on the other hand, is very loyal to those he cares about, so I guess I would have to hope he cared enough to want to help me.

5) You’re stranded on an island. Which character would you sacrifice to engage in cannibalism?

My options are: Tom Sawyer (The Adventures of Tom Sawyer) or Elphaba (Wicked)

I would probably have to sacrifice Tom. Elphaba would be a much better help when it comes to figuring out ways to survive or get off the island…although I’m not sure she would be willing to share her knowledge to help me too.

6) You’re the next DC/Marvel superhero (with your own TV show of course). Who is your sidekick?

My options are: Minny (The Help) or L (Death Note)

Ooh….very difficult decision. On the one hand, Minny would be hilarious and bring a lot of personality to my show. On the other, L is incredibly intelligent and eccentric, so he would also be entertaining in his own way. Although now that I’m thinking about it, I’m not sure if the question is asking only for a sidekick for TV show purposes, or just in general. I guess I would have to go with Minny. L prefers to work alone, so I don’t think he would be a good fit for a sidekick.

7) You’re a manager at the Avocado Admiring Company. Who would you fire for lack of communication skills?

My options are: Emma (Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children) or Juliet Moreau (The Madman’s Daughter)

Another very difficult decision. I don’t remember either of these characters being particularly good or bad at communication. I think I would be more likely to fire Emma because she’s more impulsive. Juliet is used to documenting things methodically because of her father’s experiments, and she is a quick thinker. I think she’d be generally better at communication.

8) You’ve just finished a book in which your favourite character dies. Which character is most likely to comfort you?

My options are: Willy Wonka (Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) or Gale (The Hunger Games)

My first inclination was to go for Willy Wonka, because he would probably try to distract me with chocolate (which is always welcome) or generally wacky behaviour, but I also don’t really see him as a very sympathetic person. On the other hand, Gale doesn’t really seem like the comforting type either. I guess I would have to go for Wonka.

9) Ugh, it’s high school. Who would most likely be part of the popular clique?

My options are: Henry DeTamble (The Time Traveler’s Wife) or The Mad Hatter (Alice in Wonderland)

Finally, an easier choice. Henry would definitely be more likely to be popular than The Mad Hatter. I’m sure his time travel abilities would be a bit of an issue, but I don’t think anyone in the popular crowd would have the patience for The Mad Hatter.

10) The day has arrived: You’re finally one year older! Who would have the nerve to forget your birthday?

My options are: Hermione Granger (Harry Potter) or Don Tillman (The Rosie Project)

There is no way Hermione would ever forget a friend’s birthday. Don Tillman is not very socially focused, but he is extremely organized and methodical. I actually think neither of these characters would forget my birthday, although I think Hermione is more likely to remember it on her own, without any external reminder systems.

11) You’ve just found an upcoming Booktube star. Who would it most likely be?

My options are: Reshma Kapoor (Enter Title Here) or Will Traynor (Me Before You)

Somehow, when I added both names to my list, I knew they would be matched up against each other. I think Reshman would be more likely to try Booktube because she would think it would help her college applications, and she would be able to figure out a system to make it the most successful channel possible. I can’t see Will having much interest or motivation to try it.

12) Sleepover time! Unfortunately, you can only invite one person. Who would you invite?

My options are: Aslan (The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe) or Erik (The Phantom of the Opera)

Leaving aside the fact that Aslan isn’t a person at all, he would probably still be the one I picked. Erik might be able to provide some entertainment by playing music, but I definitely would not feel safe with him there! And I think it says a lot that I would feel safer with a literal wild animal in the room. Don’t get me wrong, Erik is one of my favourite fictional characters and I find him fascinating, but I wouldn’t necessarily want him in the room with me.

13) Bam, you’re pregnant. Who is the father or mother?

My options are: The Cat in the Hat (The Cat in the Hat) or Mary Lennox (The Secret Garden)

So…either an animal or a child? I think I’ll pass on this one… If we can assume it waits for a while until everyone is old enough, then I guess Mary Lennox, but only because she’s at least human.

14) You’ve just written a super important text. Who would see it but not reply?

My options are: Violet Baudelaire (A Series of Unfortunate Events) or Jane Eyre (Jane Eyre)

I can’t really see Jane Eyre being much of a text person, even if she were living in an age when texting was possible. I think she would be less likely to reply.

15) You’ve just woken up for breakfast. Your mom has been replaced by…?

My options are: Clay Jensen (Thirteen Reasons Why) or Lady Macbeth (Macbeth)

Oh god. Definitely Clay. I would not want Lady Macbeth in my house!

 

This tag is a lot of fun! If you haven’t done so already, I will tag:

Laura @ Bibliofagista
Liza @ DuskAngelReads
IceBreaker694 @Icebreaker694
Krysti and/or Sarah @YAAndWine

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

