Top 5 Wednesdays: Top Side Ships

As I mentioned in my previous Top 5 Wednesday post about minor characters (found here), it can be tough sometimes to remember side characters unless they are very well-developed. Side characters are a little easier for me than minor characters since some of them play quite a substantial role in the story. When it comes to shipping characters, I tend to stick pretty close to the canon versions. Generally, I tend to assume that the authors wrote the characters/ships intentionally, so it can be tough for me to ship them with anyone else. J.K. Rowling’s announcement that Hermione should have ended up with Harry instead of Ron really threw me since to me, nothing in the books pointed in that direction. I would assume if she went that way with it, the books would have looked quite different. It’s even more rare for me to ship side characters, since many of them don’t seem to have a strong potential love interest. It took quite a bit of thinking to figure out my top five side ships.

Top 5 Wednesday is a meme created by Gingerreadslainey on Youtube, and is now hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes. The official GoodReads group with the weekly topics can be found here.

1) Lupin and Tonks (Harry Potter)

What would one of these lists be without the obligatory Harry Potter reference? Lupin and Tonks seem to be quite a divisive couple. Some fans love them together, and others think they were thrown together out of nowhere. What I found most interesting about this couple is that while we didn’t get to see their relationship develop at all, they also instantly made sense to me as a couple. They went through so much together, and their devotion to each other was undeniable. The way they ended was horrible, but I just loved reading about their relationship.

2) Finnick and Annie (Catching Fire/Mockingjay)

I mentioned Annie in my “minor characters” post as well, but I was especially interested by the relationship between Finnick and Annie. In order to garner favour, Finnick was forced to flirt (and more), so it was hard for me at first to accept the idea that he was so devoted to one person. It was not until later that we learn he was forced to do everything in order to protect Annie. I loved how Finnick stood by her even after her breakdown, and his willingness to put the people he cares about ahead of himself. As I mentioned in my previous post, I wish we could have learned more about them.

3) Fiona and Hugh (Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children)

In general, Fiona was a character that really interested me in this series because of the allusion to a very interesting backstory. Fiona and Hugh’s relationship was not mentioned very often, but the few references to them were some beautiful scenes. I also thought it was pretty cool how Fiona and Hugh’s peculiarities matched with each other. Fiona can grow plants, and Hugh can control bees. I would love to find out the backstories for these two characters, and especially to know how they got together in the first place.

4) Jane and Mr. Bingley (Pride and Prejudice)

This was one of the first “real” classics that I ever read, and it quickly became one of my favourites. As much as I loved Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy, I was equally interested by Jane and Mr. Bingley. When I read the introduction before getting into the book, I was fascinated by a comment about how Jane almost lost out on the relationship because she didn’t understand how to play the social games properly — she didn’t know how to show Mr. Bingley she was interested, so he assumed she wasn’t. I thought their romance was very sweet, and it was one of my favourite fictional relationships.

5) Amy and Laurie (Little Women)

I can still remember being devastated when Jo turned down Laurie the first time I read Little Women. His marriage to Amy seemed so sudden, but the more I read the book, the more I came to realize how well they fit. They had a relationship that was based on a very solid foundation of long-term friendship and respect. Like Jo, Amy is not afraid to be blunt and honest with Laurie, but unlike Jo she did so in a way that pushed and challenged him but without causing an argument.  They brought out the best in each other, and fit very well together.

Leave a Reply

