Top Ten Tuesdays: Top Ten Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t

Top 10 Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish

Reading series has always been a bit of a problem for me. In general, my preference has been to read all of the books in a series in a row. This means I’m either stuck waiting for all the books to come out, or I end up re-reading from the beginning each time there is a new book. If I wait too long to read the next book in a series, I’ve usually forgotten what happened in the previous ones and it irritates me when I’m reading and can’t figure out what’s going on. The main problem is, the opposite is also true — if I read all of the books in a row, I tend to get bored after a while. Even if I absolutely love the series, reading too many in a row sometimes makes the books feel a bit too repetitive.

Over the past couple of years, as I started to become more involved in reading challenges and watching Youtube channels discussing books, I heard about many new and very popular series. Given my tendency to avoid anything that I see as over-hyped, I naturally avoided them at all costs for a while, until last year. I finally decided that maybe the hype was for a reason, so I chose a few major series to start and incorporated the first book of each into my challenges. This is my second year of doing so, forcing me to find a balance between trying new series and finishing off or at least continuing those I already tried. I was surprised to find that I still had so many new series on my TBR. I am excluding any that I am planning to start this year. Here are a few of the series I still want to start, but may have to wait a while!

1) Red Rising by Pierce Brown

15839976I added this book to my TBR late last year, after looking into quite a few dystopian series. I’ve put off reading it for now because I recently read Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, which I’ve heard is quite similar. I’m aware that this book came first, but I’d heard a lot more about the Red Queen series and decided to try that one first. I loved the first book of that one, but I’m a little worried that reading this one will now seem too similar.

2) Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

10194157No matter what channel I watch or blog I read, I find positive comments about this series. I added it to my list alongside many other YA series that were frequently mentioned online, but put it off without any real excuse for why. When it came to picking new series to start this year, I strongly considered this one but decided to pass on it for now because I already had too many series on the go. Based on all of the positive reviews I’ve seen, I can’t wait to give this one a try!

3) The Shades of Magic Trilogy by V.E. Schwab

22055262This series has been compared to an adult-level Harry Potter, which sounds very appealing. I haven’t started it yet because I try to limit myself in my challenges to just one book per author as much as possible, and I have already decided to read Victoria Schwab’s This Savage Song this year. Nearly all of the reviewers I follow on Goodreads have absolutely raved about this series, so I’m excited to eventually try it.

4) The Hangman’s Daughter by Oliver Potzsch 

9496240I added this series to my list while searching for books that had a similar atmosphere to the Miss Peregrine series. Ironically enough, the main reason I haven’t picked this series up yet is because I keep mixing it up with other series. Now that I’ve actually looked at the synopsis properly for the first time in a while, it’s easy to remember what caught my attention about it in the first place. This will probably be one to prioritize next year.

5) Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

7896527This is another series that falls into the “only one per author” rule I try to impose for myself. I already decided to prioritize Sarah J. Maas’s A Court of Thorns and Roses series first, and I was worried about reading two fantasy series by the same author. I understand that they are quite different, but I preferred to give a chance to different authors instead of two by the same one. Also, this was a longer series so it seemed like much more of a commitment.

6) Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

6068551To be honest, I added this to my list more because of the author than anything else. Werewovles are not usually very appealing to me, but I have heard nothing but good things about Maggie Stiefvater for well over a year now. I decided to go for her Raven Boys series first since that seemed more up my alley, but it seemed only fair to give a chance to a werewolf series since I have not read any before. I haven’t read any of Maggie Stiefvater yet, but I’ve heard she’s a great author.

7) Legend by Marie Lu

9275658I added this one at the height of my YA dystopian phase, which has since diminished (hence why I haven’t tried it yet). The books in this series have an unusually high average rating on Goodreads (over 4 stars each), yet it did not seem to be a series that was talked about as much. I’m curious about why this series hasn’t received the same amount of attention as others in the genre, but even moreso to see why it managed to get such great ratings. I may need to wait a bit to be in the mood to read a YA dystopian again, but this seems like it will be a good choice.

8) The Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness

2118745Patrick Ness is quickly becoming one of my favourite authors. I was absolutely blown away by A Monster Calls, and I recently read and loved The Rest of Us Just Live Here. All of his books are quite different from each other. I added this series to my list after getting a used copy of the first book and skimming the first few pages, which seemed hilarious! This opening pages of this book feature a conversation between a boy and his dog. I wasn’t expecting to like it much, but I was immediately drawn in by Patrick Ness’s writing style. It looks like it could be a great series.

9) An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

27774758Of all the series listed here, this is probably the one that I know least about. I’ve been waiting to try it because it was another YA dystopian, which I haven’t really been in the mood for lately. The world in this book is supposed to be based on Ancient Rome, which was one of the topics I was most interested in at school. This is another book that was very highly rated on Goodreads and is rumoured to be coming out as a movie later on this year.

10) Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

28374007This is one of the few cases where I actually have read another book by this author. Last year, I read the first book in the Anna Dressed in Blood duology, and I really enjoyed it. I actually didn’t realize at first that this series was written by the same author. I thought this series seemed interesting because it reminded me a bit of some of the court politics involved in Tudor England and other monarchies of the past, although with each of the potential queens having special powers. It definitely seems like something that I would enjoy.

If anyone has already read any of these series, or has any recommendations for others, please let me know. There are quite a few series that I already have in progress or in mind for later on this year, but I would never say no to more recommendations!

 

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Top Ten Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t

  1. This is a great list! Most of these are series that I still need/want to get around to, too. The only one I’ve actually started is Shades of Magic. I’ve read the first two books and enjoyed them quite a bit, although admittedly not as much as other people seem to. But if you like world-building, it’s a great series to check out as it’s done really, really well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Actually my mom read the first book recently, and she said it took her a really long time to get through. She loves world-building and she can usually read a book that size in 2, maybe 3 days, so it’s not the most encouraging. I’ve seen so much positive feedback online though so I’d still love to try it myself.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Tuesdays: Ten Series I Haven’t Finished Yet | Abyssal Librarian

Leave a Reply

