Top 10 Tuesdays: Ten Series I Haven’t Finished Yet

Top 10 Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish

Although Top 10 Tuesdays is officially on a bit of a hiatus over the summer, since I am still so new to it, I decided I would backtrack a bit and post about some of the topics I’d missed until new ones are available. Recently, Top 10 Tuesdays asked about series that we have yet to start (found here), so this one seemed like a natural follow-up. I’ll admit that I generally prefer standalones over series since I find series often drag the story out unnecessarily, leaving the dreaded “transitional book” where not much really happens, but it moves the characters from the introduction of the conflict in Book 1 toward the conclusion in Book 3. Over the past couple of years, I’ve really committed to trying several of the more popular series, which has left me in a bit of an awkward position with many series open. Because I try to fit my books into my reading challenges, and I generally try to avoid too many by the same author, I have trouble managing series. Here are some of the series that I have started, but not finished yet:

1) The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

29995315To be fair, I am almost finished this series and it is one of the few that I prioritized to finish this year. I read Cinder toward the end of 2016 and I absolutely loved it, so I made sure to fit Scarlet in this year. I actually didn’t intend to read the rest so quickly, but I wanted Winter for a particularly irritating prompt (a book over 800 pages), so I needed to find a place for Cress too. I just finished Cress last week, and I loved it. Aside from the four main books, there are also the “between the numbers” books and apparently a new, related graphic novel series focusing on Iko. I’m not generally a fan of “between the numbers” books, but I think in this case I will make an exception.

2) Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

28960212This was another series I started toward the end of last year, and I was blown away by the first book. I thought Juliette was such an interesting protagonist and I really connected with the writing style. I know a lot of people take issue with the excessive metaphors and strikethroughs, but for me they fit well with Juliette’s mental state. I read the second book not too long ago, and although I didn’t find it quite as strong, I’m still very interested in finding out what happens next. This is another series that has a few “between the numbers” books, and I’ve only recently learned that there will be a fourth book coming out sometime next year.

3) Delirium by Lauren Oliver

11614718I have a bit of a strange relationship with Lauren Oliver’s books. I generally enjoy the concept and I like reading them, but something always seems to hold them back from being 5-star reads for me. I picked up this series because I was intrigued by the concept of a world where love is viewed as a disease. I really enjoyed how the first book explored what it would mean to outlaw all kinds of love, not just romantic love. While I enjoy these books as I’m reading them, I find them a little less memorable, although I’ve just seen that the third book is told from a dual-perspective of Lena who has joined the resistance, and her friend Hana who is still at home where love is banned. It seems like it will be an interesting way to bring it all together.

4) The Caster Chronicles by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

13537830I picked up Beautiful Creatures last year because I’d seen and loved the movie. It is actually not so often that I find a non-Harry Potter series that involves witches or magic. I also liked how this book was a little different since it was told from the male perspective. I’m sure it is not the only one to do that, but it was definitely one of the only ones I had read. I enjoyed the first book although I found it a little slow-paced. I don’t have any of the rest of them in mind for this year, but I would like to continue the series eventually. I’ve been a bit scared off since I saw so many negative reviews about how much the series goes downhill!

5) The Program by Suzanne Young

11366397This is another series that I started last year but didn’t manage to fit in anywhere this year, although I would like to continue it. This series is about a world in which suicide is an epidemic so people are constantly screened for signs of depression, and sent to The Program if they show any. This was another series that I heard a lot of mixed reviews about, especially because of concerns with the way mental illness is discussed. However, I thought it was a very interesting start. The only reason I didn’t fit it into this year was because there were several new series that I wanted to try more, but I will have to try to squeeze it in!

6) The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

11127I’m actually not 100% sure whether I’ve ever finished the series. I’ve definitely read The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe and The Magician’s Nephew more than once. I also vaguely remember reading one or two more of them when I was much younger and had the flu, but I don’t remember anything about them. I’ve also never been able to figure out what the best order is to read these books. This series is definitely one of my longer-term goals, because I would love to finally finish them all! If anyone has any recommendations for what order to read them in, please let me know!

7) The Selection by Keira Cass

10507293This one of a few series that I committed to trying this year, but I was on the fence about it because of the mixed reviews. Most reviews compared this series to The Bachelor, which I have never watched and have no interest in, so I went into it with fairly low expectations. While I think this book would have been better if it was told from multiple perspectives, I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would. I’m hoping in the next few books there will be more character development of some of the other competitors. The book was fun to read, and it caught my attention enough to want to try the rest of the series.

8) Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

22328546This was another of the series I decided to try this year, and again it had me worried because of the reviews. It may have helped that I read this book before others that it has been compared to, but I also really connected with the writing style. I was surprised to find that Victoria Aveyard actually caught me off-guard with the ending. I can see where some people might complain about the heavy use of common tropes, but it was well-written enough that it didn’t bother me at all. I’m really looking forward to reading the rest of the series and I hope it holds up to this one.

9) Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman

714902I started this series last year for a prompt that required a series written by an author of colour, which was surprisingly difficult to find. This book is about a world where people are divided into Noughts, who are colourless members of the lower-class, and Crosses, dark-skinned members of the upper-class. I’ll admit that I found the beginning of the book a little frustrating since many of the events were ripped straight from the history textbooks of the Civil Rights movement in the USA. It made it seem a little less creative to me, but I loved the rest of the story. I am still waiting for my library to get a copy of the next book so I can read it!

10) The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

the-madmans-daughterThis was another of my favourite series that I started last year! This series consists of three books, each of which is loosely based on a classic horror story. Juliet Moreau, the protagonist was one of the most interesting main characters that I’d read all year. It was a little ironic since I kept putting off reading this until close to the end of the year and even considered switching it out for something different. It ended up being one of my favourites! I read the second book earlier this year, and immediately went and found a place to squeeze the third one in for later on.

 

Leave a Reply

