Top 10 Tuesdays: 10 Books That Caught My Attention at the Bookstore While on Vacation

Top 10 Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish

Top 10 Tuesday topics are currently not available, as explained on The Broke and The Bookish, so I was on my own to pick a topic. One of the prompts in my reading challenges this year is “a book you bought on a trip,” which I knew would be one of the most difficult prompts for me to fulfill. I actually decided not to buy anything due to a combination of the cost, a lack of luggage space, and the knowledge that I have no more room on my shelves! I decided to alter the prompt a bit to choose a book that I discovered while on a trip.

Every July, my workplace closes down for two weeks while our participants go to summer camp and to give the staff a well-deserved break. I usually take this time to go on a trip for a few days, sometimes to a new place and sometimes to places I’ve visited many times before just to relax a bit. This year, it was the latter kind of vacation, visiting two cities that I’ve been to many times over the years to see family and friends.

One of my favourite things to do while on a trip is to check out the bookstore. I do have Indigo about half an hour by bus away from me, but sometimes I find better deals or otherwise unavailable books more easily on other cities. Since I was on my own for a Top 10 Tuesday topic, I decided to list the 10 books that caught my attention most while at the bookstore during my trip.

1 and 2) Small Great Things (Jodi Picoult) and Two by Two (Nicholas Sparks)

2858795730002998I decided to lump these two together because I decided not to buy them for the same reason. As I mentioned in my recent post about the cost of books (found here), I have been hoping to buy both of these books for quite a long time, but haven’t been able to get my copies yet because they cost a lot more than I am willing to spend right now. I went to two different bookstores during my trip hoping to find these on sale, or some kind of deal available (ie. “Buy 2, get 1 free”) but I had no luck. They were both still over $30 each! I guess I’ll have to just get them from the library for now, and wait to get my copies later.

3) Le Morte d’Arthur by Thomas Malory

1331904749It’s been a very long time since I bought any classics at all, and this was never one that I really strongly was interested in. I read The Once and Future King last year and loved it, but my understanding is that this is quite a similar book. When I was at Chapters a couple of nights ago, I saw an absolutely gorgeous version of this book and was extremely tempted to buy it. I can’t even find an image of the right version to show, but it was a leather-bound hardcover and it had gold edges on all of the pages (like the old Royal Diaries YA series, if anyone knows those books). The picture I included here is the closest I could find. I wanted to buy this book partly because I love King Arthur legends, but also because of how amazing it looked! I’m never one to go for books just because of how they look, but I almost made an exception for this one. It looked kind of old-fashioned, and it was awesome!

4) Crosstalk by Connie Willis

25430566This is another book that I’ve been meaning to read for quite a while, ever since I discovered it on Goodreads late last year. The more I hear about it, the more I want to read it! I’ve seen this book several times in bookstores over the past year or so, and each time I see it I’ve considered buying it. I’m not usually a huge sci-fi fan, but this book fits in perfectly with my recent interest in reading about anything to do with social media and how it affects our lives. This book is about a couple who undergo a procedure designed to increase empathy and communication, but sometime goes wrong and the woman is connected to someone other than her soon-to-be fiance. It seems like such a great concept, so I will have to find a place in my reading challenges for this book! I decided not to buy it because it was way too overpriced ($37 for the hardcover!).

5) Tales from Gombe by Anup Shah and Fiona Rogers

21563972I have never been a big fan of coffee table books, but my mom and I both strongly considered buying this one! We have both always been interested in the great apes, especially Jane Goodall and other researchers who lived with and studied apes. This book includes stunning pictures taken of the chimpanzees at Gombe and lots of information about their lives and even personalities. I’m always hesitant to buy this kind of book because it seems like the kind of thing I would only read once and then never touch again, but it is very hard to resist those photos! Compared to the other books above, this was also very reasonably priced, and I’m still considering getting myself a copy.

6) Egg and Spoon by Gregory Maguire

20708810Gregory Maguire is one of my favourite authors and one that I check to see when new books are coming, so I was shocked to notice this book on the shelves! I had no idea at all that he had released something new… and even more shocked to discover that this book has already been out for three years! I only found that out as I started putting together this post. I have no idea how I could have missed this one. Actually, I think the main reason I’d missed it in the first place is because it was in the YA section and most of his other books were with the general fiction (I feel a bit weird calling it “adult books”). I guess I’ll have to be a bit more careful checking for updates from my favourite authors!

7) The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

494610On the other hand, this was a book and an author that I had never heard of before. The cover art of this one caught my attention as I was walking past, and I thought the synopsis sounded very intriguing. This book is already 10 years old and the title sounded vaguely familiar so it is possible I came across it on Goodreads at some point. After adding it to my list, I found that several of the reviewers I follow have read and loved this book so it was even more incentive to want to pick it up at some point. I’m a bit reluctant to buy books now without trying them first because of a combo of cost and lack of space, but I would definitely be interested in reading this one.

8) The Seven Rules of Elvira Carr by Frances Maynard

32681108This book was a truly random find. I love just walking up and down the shelves and looking at all the books. This one was displayed pretty prominently on one of the shelves, which I later discovered was because it was a brand new release. The bright blue cover caught my attention as did the unusual formatting of the title. As soon as I checked the synopsis, I knew this was a book I had to add to my list. This book is about a young woman named Elvira who has been sheltered by her mother due to difficulties interacting with others. After her mother dies, Elvira is on her own to try to figure out how to live her life, and starts by creating herself a list of seven social rules to follow. It seemed to me that Elvira might be on the autism spectrum, which is something I’m very interested in reading about.

9) The Takedown by Corrie Wang

31423554This book is one of the new releases of the year that I’ve been most excited for. It is another story focusing on the dangers of social media. In it, a popular high school student named Kyla discovers that a video of someone who looks like her sleeping with a teacher has gone viral. Kyla faces the near-impossible task of trying to get the video off of the Internet. I’ve been very excited to read this because it seems like such a unique plot, even among stories that focus on the Internet and social media. I don’t think I have ever read a book about viral videos or the permanence of posts online. I was hesitant to buy it because I was worried it wouldn’t live up to the self-imposed hype, but it is one of the books that I strongly considered getting.

10) Waste of Space by Gina Damico

28473381To be fair, this was not a book that I saw at a bookstore but it was one that I discovered while on vacation through one of the blogs I follow. Unfortunately, I can’t remember where I saw it! This book is a new release about a group of teenagers who take part in a reality show where they live in a replica spaceship and believe they have been genuinely sent into space. I’m not a huge fan of reality TV, although I do enjoy Hell’s Kitchen and I used to love Survivor and American Idol. I thought this book was another unique concept for a YA story and it seemed like it could be a very interesting story that combines teen drama and the risks of reality TV.

Leave a Reply

