The Reading Slump Paradox

I know this title sounds suspiciously like an episode of The Big Bang Theory, but I also think it really fits my current situation. I’ve always associated a “reading slump” with boredom, difficulty finding a good book, or otherwise just not enjoying what you’re reading. One of my earliest posts on this blog actually talked about different kinds of reading slumps (here, for anyone interested) and some suggestions on how to overcome them.

Over the past couple of weeks, I found myself in a strange kind of paradoxical reading slump. I’ve really enjoyed everything I’ve been reading, but I also feel like I’ve been reading very slowly and struggling to motivate myself to continue reading. In fact, of the past 5 books that I’ve read, 4 of them were either 4-star or 5-star reads so it’s safe to say that I’ve been enjoying them. I first noticed the feeling of a slump when reading Uprooted, which was a book I adored but found myself struggling to push through. The odd thing is, while it felt like it was taking me absolutely forever to finish it, it only took me 4 days, which is completely reasonable for a book of that size given the amount of time I had to read.

I was looking forward to my two weeks off from work because I thought I would get a lot of reading done, and I was excited to read and make progress on my challenges. I squeezed in In Real Life on my last day of work, but was quite disappointed with it. I also read Allegedly during my first couple of days off before I left, although I came down with an extremely annoying summer cold which might have also contributed to the slump.

I think in a way I felt the slump a bit more because I seriously overestimated how much time I would have to read while on vacation. I was away for a week, and decided to bring 4 books with me thinking I would have lots of time to read at the airport, on the train, and at the hotel. The four books I brought with me were: Purple Hibiscus, The Forgetting Time, Uprooted, and The Translation of Love. My plan was to do most of my reading on the train rides, and in the evenings but I ended up having much busier days than I expected, leaving me without too much time to read. I finished the first two books above while away, although they each took me a day or two longer than expected, and finished Uprooted the day after I got back home. I’ve decided to put off The Translation of Love for now to switch things up and read a couple of shorter/lighter books in between. To be fair, I don’t think I ever really thought I’d finish all four within the week but I always end up bringing more books than I could possibly finish.

What confused me about this slump is how much I was enjoying what I was reading. Normally when I feel like I’m forcing myself through a book, it’s because I’m really not enjoying the book very much. When I started reading Uprooted, I fell in love with the world that was created and the writing style, so I was surprised to find that by the middle, I felt like I was slogging through it and kept getting easily distracted to do anything but read. It was weird, since I still came out of the book loving it and I rated it 5 stars because I’m not sure it was the book’s fault that I was in the slump.

Actually, I think one reason is because of the pesky “you are x books behind schedule” on Goodreads, which has me a little worried about my challenge progress. As much as I’ve said I would prioritize certain challenges to finish within the year, I still would ideally love to finish them all, but I am currently just under halfway.

The other main reason for the slump is this other kind of odd paradox, where a book I haven’t even read yet is causing the slump. As part of my BookRiot challenge this year, I have the task of reading a book set in South or Central America that is written by an author from South or Central America. I intended to read One Hundred Years of Solitude which has become my Goldfinch/Dracula of the year. To put that in context, each year there always seems to be one book I have in mind to read for the challenge that I end up putting off over and over, until eventually deciding not to read it at all. Two years ago, it was The Goldfinch which I actually never had that much interest in, but chose because it fit a challenge which I believe called for a long book. Last year, it was Dracula, a book that I’d been meaning to read for a long time but never seemed to be in the mood for. I kept putting it off hoping that eventually I would really feel like reading it, but as I got closer to the end of the year, it started to seem more and more unrealistic to be able to squeeze it in and finish the challenge in time. I ended up putting it off and reading it this year instead, and I loved it!

Unfortunately, I now seem to be in the same boat with One Hundred Years of Solitude. It is one of those classics that I feel like I should read at some point but didn’t have a super strong interest in trying. I chose it mostly because I found a real lack of options for the prompt it covers, and a co-worker has told me in the past that they really think I’ll love it. Although I still waver a bit about wanting to read it, every time I pick it up just to flip through and try to motivate myself, I find myself completely not interested. I’ve learned over the past few years that the worst thing I can do is try to force myself to read something when I don’t really want to, because that practically guarantees that I won’t enjoy it at all. It might end up being a book that I scrap and replace, and try to fit in again next year. I actually intended to read it during my time off since it seemed like a longer/more dense book than most of the others I’ve been reading, but when it came down to the time to pick books to bring with me, I just wasn’t in the mood for it.

I don’t think I’ve really come out of the slump yet, but I’ve just released a whole bunch of my holds from the library including a few books that I’m very excited for. I’m hoping that will be enough to get my motivation back on track. I still find it very strange to lack motivation to read, while at the same time enjoy everything I’m reading. Has anyone else ever had this?