Top 10 Tuesdays: 10 Books That Have Been On Your Shelf (or TBR) From Before You Started Blogging

Top 10 Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish

Picking past Top 10 Tuesday topics is more of a challenge than I thought! I knew that while The Broke and The Bookish was on a break I’d be on my own, but I didn’t realize it would be so difficult to decide on a topic each week. Recently, my TBR list on Goodreads has basically exploded in size since I keep finding more and more books to add. Whenever I finish a book that I really enjoy, I tend to look at what else the author has published and add those as well. The same goes for a series. If I enjoy the first book, I’ll add the rest of the series to my list. Not too long ago, I went on a bit of a “pre-release” spree and looked at upcoming books for 2018 and added a bunch of those to my list as well…never mind the fact that I’m still quite behind on this year’s reading challenges.

For this week’s topic, I decided to look back the other way at some of the books that have been on my list from the start of my Goodreads account in 2015. Since I’m still a relatively new blogger (approaching one year now), I thought it made more sense to list some of the books that have been on my TBR longest, instead of anything from before I started blogging. When I first joined Goodreads, I honestly didn’t expect to use it very much and most of my early list comprised of classics I’d been meaning to read for a long time. As I started exploring the website further (and getting more obsessed with finding new books), my list greatly expanded. My list currently sits at about 1550 books to read, and still growing! Here are some of the books that have been on my list the longest:

1) Looking for Alaska by John Green

99561When I started my Goodreads account, I think the only book of John Green’s that I had read was The Fault in Our Stars, which I really liked. I knew I wanted to try more of his books, so I added the rest to my list and I have been slowly making my way through them each year as part of my reading challenges. I have read An Abundance of Katherines and Paper Towns, but this book consistently seems to be one of his most popular. John Green seems to be one of those authors where although I like everything I’m reading, I haven’t really loved any of his books yet. The Fault in Our Stars was definitely the best so far, but given the popularity of this one, I’m hoping it will be just as good.

2) Girl with a Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier

2865It’s actually a little embarrassing that I haven’t read this one yet, since I received it as a gift from my brother’s girlfriend several years ago. If I recall correctly, this was back around the time we’d first met, and she got the book for me after discovering that I love reading. There is no real excuse for why I haven’t read it yet, other than just prioritizing other books over it. To be fair, I’m not sure if it was a book that I would have chosen for myself but I do enjoy historical fiction and I have heard a lot of positive reviews for this one. I will have to make sure to give it a chance.

3) The Maze Runner by James Dashner

6186357I added this book to my list at the height of the YA dystopian craze, intended to read it for my first reading challenge in 2015, and ultimately switched it out for something different. I was thinking of using it for the prompt requiring reading an entire trilogy, but ended up choosing Ransom Riggs’ Miss Peregrine series instead. I’ve always been a little on the fence about how much I want to read this book. I put it off originally because I was a little burnt out on dystopians, and I’ve been on the fence ever since. The book has been very highly rated by most of the reviewers I follow on Goodreads, and the story sounds interesting but I’m just never in the mood to pick it up.

4) Before the Storm by Diane Chamberlain

2589061This was another book that I intended to read during my 2015 reading challenge, but had to scrap because my library lost their only copy. It took them a very long time to finally decide that the book was lost, and by the time I got the notification, I had already found something else to fulfill the prompt. If I remember correctly, I found this book because it came highly recommended for fans of Jodi Picoult and other similar authors. I had never heard of Diane Chamberlain before, but found the synopses of many of her books very appealing. I can’t remember what prompt I meant to use this for, but I was annoyed that the library couldn’t find it in the end!

5) The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand

17285330I think this was a book that I added to my list because the cover really strongly caught my attention. When I first started adding to my TBR, I spent a long time looking at the recommendations pages on Goodreads and finding many books that seemed interesting. This is one of many YA books that I added, kept on my list for so long because it interested me every time I re-read the synopsis, and then never bothered to pick up. It’s received very mixed reviews from the reviewers I follow, which is not the most encouraging and may be why I’ve always been a little reluctant to try it. Although looking at the page now, it has an average rating over 4 stars on Goodreads, so it should be pretty good.

6) The Kindness of Strangers by Katrina Kittle

15655This was another book that I added to my list because I found the cover art so appealing. I think it actually took me some time to decide to add it, but I kept being drawn to the giant leaf on the cover. Each time I visited the recommendations page, this book would be there and drew my attention so I finally decided to add it to my list. Looking through my list now, I can definitely see different phases I went through while adding to my TBR — there’s a classics phase, a family drama phase, and a YA phase. I’m guessing that had to do with which of the recommendations pages I was looking at. This book was right in the middle of several family drama stories, which are often my favourites.

7) Who R U Really? by Margo Kelly

21444891As I’m sure I’ve mentioned before, I’ve been very interested in books that deal with the Internet and social media, and the role they play in our social lives. Apparently this was not such a recent interest, although I think the direction these books have taken has shifted over the years. I added this book to my list two years ago and never picked it up because it was unavailable through the library system. I’m always hesitant now to buy books that I’ve never tried because they are so expensive. I was very surprised to discover this book on the library shelves recently, so I will have to make sure to prioritize it sometime soon.

8) Creepy and Maud by Dianne Touchell

15703528This is another book that has been bugging me for years, in the sense that it was so difficult to find! This year, I made sure to add it to my reading challenges to push myself to finally read it, only to learn that the library could not get a copy because it is out of print! A little weird, since the book was published in 2012, but still very irritating! This was another book that appealed to me largely because of the interesting cover art, but I also thought the storyline had a lot of potential. I have yet to find a way to read this, since it is out of stock and even e-book versions don’t exist in my country, but I will definitely be on the lookout for this one!

9) #scandal by Sarah Ockler

17415348If I’m honest, any titles that include a hashtag instantly make me cringe, but this book just seemed like it could be a decent story. I originally thought this book had something to do with being a celebrity, but I later realized it was actually about cyberbullying. As much as I tend to love social media stories, I need to be in the mood to read this kind of high school romance so this is a book that has consistently been put off. I’ve actually never read any of Sarah Ockler’s books, although they all seem somewhat interesting. Most of hers, like Sarah Dessen’s books, seem to be geared toward an audience a little younger than I am. While I don’t have a problem reading YA or middle grade, I sometimes don’t enjoy it when it is skewed younger.

10) Things I Want My Daughters to Know by Elizabeth Noble

1152201This was another book discovered through the recommendations pages. I have never read any of Elizabeth Noble’s books, although several of them look interesting. I’ve actually just added a few more to my list, which is definitely not helping my total TBR number. I added this book because it looked like such a moving story about four sisters trying to move on after their mother’s death, with letters and a journal from their mother to help guide them. These kinds of stories are always a little hit or miss for me, because they are so dependent on how well I connect with the author’s writing style. I think the main reason I haven’t picked it up yet is because I’ve been worried about not enjoying it much, especially after seeing the very mixed reviews.

Leave a Reply

