I’m A Guilty Reader Book Tag

It’s been quite a while since I did a book tag related to my reading habits. I stumbled across this one recently in one of my Goodreads groups, and I thought it was a great follow-up to the Reader Confessions tag that I participated in a couple of months ago. The I’m a Guilty Reader tag was created by Chami at ReadLikeWildfire, and her video can be found here.

1) Have You Ever Regifted A Book That You’ve Been Given?

No. I struggle as it is to give up my books, even when I haven’t read them in years. Earlier this year, I went through my closet and finally got rid of some of the books that I’d gathered at library book sales, where you paid a certain fee per bag of books. I had tons that I’d been holding onto for years because they seemed vaguely interesting, but never actually bothered to read. Even giving those up were a struggle!

Surprisingly, I don’t receive too many books as gifts. Usually I just get gift cards to the bookstore and I choose my own, or I just buy the books I want myself. If I choose to buy the book, it’s practically guaranteed that I will not give it away because it is a book that I actually wanted to own.

2) Have you ever said you’ve read a book when you haven’t?

I’ve never outright lied about reading a book, but there was one textbook in university that I just couldn’t get through. I had two deaths in the family back-to-back at the time and needed to read quite a huge chunk of the book for an assignment. Using the index and skimming subheadings, I managed to complete my assignment (and got an A!) without properly reading the chapter. That was the first and only time I’ve ever skipped a required reading, but I just couldn’t manage it and everything else going on at the same time.

3) Have you ever borrowed a book and not returned it?

I only ever borrow books from the library, and I always return them. I’m pretty careful not to take out more than I can manage, and I’m pretty on top of renewing things when needed.  I’m not even sure if I’ve ever returned a book late.

4) Have you ever read a series out of order?

Not unless you count the Narnia books, and I don’t really since there seem to be two “acceptable” orders for reading them (chronologically, or in publishing order). I’ve honestly never understood how people can read series out of order since in most of the series I read, the events follow from one book to the next. There’s no way I would understand what’s going on without reading the previous books.

5) Have you ever spoiled a book for someone?

Not intentionally. Ever since I had Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince spoiled for me, I’ve been pretty careful. One of the reasons I’m so hesitant to write reviews is because I have a hard time talking about the books without risking spoiling anything.

6) Have you ever dog-eared a book?

This is one that I actually am guilty of! I used to dog-ear all of my books up until about sixth grade, when someone pointed out that it was damaging them. I have no idea why that thought never crossed my mind before that. I think I continued to do it a little while longer, but now I would never dog-ear my books! I hate when they get damaged.

7) Have you ever told someone you don’t own a book when you do?

No, but I have told them that I don’t know where my copy is when they are really intent on borrowing it. I don’t like lending out my books to anyone, but sometimes I feel bad saying no. Most people who know me would know how many books I have everywhere in my room, so claiming I don’t know where it is would be a very feasible excuse (unless it was something like Harry Potter, which is pretty obviously on my shelves).

8) Have you ever told someone you haven’t read a book when you have?

Not that I know of. There are some books that I read so long ago that I might not remember whether I’ve read them, but I don’t think that’s what is being asked here. I’m not embarrassed by the books I’ve read, so I’d have no problem talking about them.

9) Have you every skipped a chapter or a section of a book?

Only the occasion that I mentioned above. Like I said for series, I don’t really understand how people can skip ahead in a book without missing anything, unless it is something like an anthology where nothing is connected to each other anyway. If I did skip chapters, I know I’d just get annoyed later on when reference was made to something I’d missed.

10) Have you ever bad mouthed a book you actually liked?

No, not that I know of. Like I said, I’m not embarrassed by the books I read and I have no problem having the unpopular opinion about them. I don’t see any reason why I would need to badmouth a book that I liked. Just to be clear, I think there’s a big difference between badmouthing and reading critically/being aware of the problems in it.

Looking back at my answers, apparently I am not a very “guilty” reader but I’m curious to know about other people’s reading habits. I will tag:

Harini @ BooksandReaders
Kourtni @ KourtniReads
FNM @ FNMBookReviews
Anushka @ GoingThroughBooks
Beth @ ReadingEveryNight

Leave a Reply

