New Year, New Book Haul!

Apparently I’m starting the year with an absolute ton of new books to read! I knew I had accumulated quite a few, but hadn’t realized that it was quite this many. I guess it’s to be expected since last month, I’d commented that I had a few more books that I was still waiting for at the time I posted my last haul. It has been almost exactly a month since then, and I’ve somehow managed to acquire a ton more! I shouldn’t be surprised since there tend to be some amazing sales toward the end of the year, and I also typically have at least one or two gift cards from my birthday that I like to use toward December or to preorder books that are coming out early the following year. I have been finding it a little more challenging to preorder lately because of joining Book of the Month, since I never know what they are going to select. I know there is an option to skip a month if there’s nothing that I want, but I’d like to take advantage of the credits that I have. Plus, BOTM gives me the opportunity to buy new thrillers for much, much cheaper than I can find otherwise so it’s also a great way for me to get the books I want in the format that I want, instead of opting for a cheaper paperback copy. I prefer hardcovers whenever possible since they are less likely to get damaged. I should probably point out that I am not sponsored or affiliated with BOTM in any way, just excited that it is now available in Canada!

This first photo is a combination of multiple different orders from Book Outlet, thanks to some great sales they had toward the end of the year. Many of these were books that I ended up buying on a whim, but several were books that I’d been specifically looking for. I was a bit annoyed that I accidentally ordered two copies of Only a Monster (only one is shown here since I’m giving the other away). The one gripe I tend to have with Book Outlet is that sometimes, if you’ve had an item in your cart and it disappears from it because it goes out of stock, it automatically adds 2 copies the next time you put it back into your cart. I thought I had checked the quantities before I ordered, but apparently I missed that one. It’s not the biggest deal, but it was annoying since it had been one of the more expensive items in my order (around $10), and I didn’t need 2!

The four books at the top are from BetterWorldBooks because they had a great sale offering 30% off orders of $30 or more. I was lucky enough to find hardcover copies of several books that I’d been waiting to find, especially The Bone Witch! I remember picking up that book every time I went into a bookstore in the past and debating whether to get it, but always passed over it for something else. By the time I finally decided I wanted to read it, hardcover copies were no longer available anywhere. I was a tiny bit disappointed that my copy of Luckiest Girl Alive had a chunk taken out of the top corner of the dust jacket, but still glad that I was able to find these books!

This second photo is a massive order, or possibly a couple of different orders, from Indigo. They had a great deal on toward the end of the year which offered something like 20 or 25% off, plus I have a Plum Rewards membership which offers an additional 10% off, so I was able to grab a ton of these books for great prices! Not all of the books shown here are from that sale specifically, since some are also preorders or just books I grabbed afterwards (plus I realized too late that The Pallbearer’s Club was actually from Book Outlet, not even from Indigo at all!) and many of these are books that are very high on my list to read this year!

This third photo is two months of Book of the Month boxes, plus the Harry Potter figure on top is my first ever FunkoPop! I received it as part of my gift during the Holiday Gift Exchange we did at work, along with some chocolate. I can’t decide if I want to leave it in the box or take it out. I also really want to collect Addams Family figures but they are so expensive! But getting back to BOTM, I was a little worried last month because my box took an unusually long time to show up and I’d even received notification from them that they were going to look into the possibility that it had been lost. Luckily, within a few days of that the books arrived with no problem, so I assume it was just holiday traffic. My pick for December was All the Dangerous Things, which I was super excited to see! My pick for January was What Lies in the Wood, which was also very high on my priority list for this year. All of the other books shown here are the add-ons that I picked, which were so much more affordable than they were in stores. I can’t wait to see next month’s choices!

If anyone would like to follow along with my reading challenges and see what I’m currently reading in addition to book hauls, please follow me on Instagram here

Leave a comment