One-Word Reviews for My 2024 Reads (#3)

I was really hoping to get this post out last weekend, but I couldn’t quite finish off what would have been the 15th book on this list in time! Maybe if I had been pretty close to the end I would have been able to review it anyway, but I wasn’t even close enough to really feel comfortable doing that yet. Luckily, I finished it off just a day or two later so it meant I could keep on track with this series! I still find that I’m reading a little more slowly than I would like, but I do seem to be on an upward trend in terms of my page count per month. I’m hoping to be able to pick up the pace just a tiny bit through the rest of the year because I have an absolute ton of books that I want to get to soon! It’s getting to a point where it’s getting difficult to choose what to read next because I have so many that I’m so excited for. It’s times like these were reading seasonally both helps and hinders me in a way, and I also have to keep choosing which goals to prioritize. I do find this year has been quite a mixed bag overall. I’m generally enjoying the majority of what I’m reading, but I also don’t quite feel like I’ve found very many favourites yet either! At least that makes it a little easier to come up with a variety of adjectives to use in these reviews, but I’m hoping to find lots more new favourites soon. As always, if anyone would like a little more detail about my thoughts on any of these posts, feel free to ask or check out my Recent Reads series, where I cover some of the books I’ve read a bit more thoroughly.

**I’ve just noticed that I forgot to include one of my books earlier this year!! I’m not quite sure how this happened, but in order to balance things back out, I will include it here as the first one the list:

1) To Siri, With Love by Judith Newman

One-word review: Mediocre

2) Creepy Carrots! by Aaron Reynolds

One-word review: Adorable

3) Secluded Cabin Sleeps Six by Lisa Unger

One-word review: Surprising

4) Numb to This: Memoir of a Mass Shooting by Kindra Neely

One-word review: Impactful

5) Foul Lady Fortune by Chloe Gong

One-word review: Amazing!

6) Reader, Come Home: The Reading Brain the Digital World by Maryanne Wolf

One-word review: Informative

7) Foul Heart Huntsman by Chloe Gong

One-word review: Action-packed

8) Last Violent Call by Chloe Gong

One-word review: Fun

9) Good Bad Girl by Alice Feeney

One-word review: Page-turner

10) Sunny Days: The Children’s Television Revolution that Changed America by David Kamp

One-word review: Detailed

11) Counting Down With You by Tashie Bhuiyan

One-word review: Sweet

12) Happiness Falls by Angie Kim

One-word review: Fascinating

13) The Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez

One-word review: Dramatic

14) Funny Farm: My Unexpected Life with 600 Rescue Animals by Laurie Zaleski

One-word review: Fine

15) Mother-Daughter Murder Night by Nina Simon

One-word review: Entertaining

Leave a comment