Reader Struggles: Meme Mini-Series (#7)

Of all the memes that are on the list, I think this one may be the biggest problem for me:cover-up

I am a fairly fast reader, especially when it is a book that really interests me. I can generally finish a book in 2-3 days, given that I can only read in the evenings after work. When I get really into a book, accidentally spoiling it for myself becomes a big problem. I’m so excited to find out what happens next that I can’t wait and, as much as I don’t want to skip ahead, I sometimes tend to glance at the next page. Most of the time, I stop myself right away and don’t see more than a couple of words, but sometimes the two or three words that I do see are very important.

When I’m really enjoying a book, I don’t want to rush through it too much, and I definitely don’t want to ruin it for myself. Spoilers are not always a big deal for me since I’m often more interested in seeing how the story develops, and not necessarily the end result. Although it is irritating to have someone spill how a book ends, I can be okay with it because I still want to know how the characters reached that point. In some ways, I find it a lot more frustrating when I spoil the book for myself. At least the very least, spoilers from other people are beyond your control, but theoretically, I should be able to prevent myself from glancing ahead to the next page. One of the most irritating parts of it is knowing that I shouldn’t look ahead, but doing it anyway, all while thinking “I shouldn’t skip ahead!”

Short of physically covering up the next page, I’m not even sure what to do to prevent this. Actually, as silly as it may sound, I sometimes have purposely covered a page to not ruin it for myself. I sometimes even find myself rushing through the page I’m currently on so I can get to the next part, in some bizarre attempt to avoid glancing ahead. I rush to get there “properly” so I get ahead of the temptation to glance, I guess. Either way, I have to remind myself to slow down a bit and really enjoy the book I’m reading.

Leave a comment